What Are Some Of The Biggest Misconceptions People Have Regarding Auto Collisions?
Each client needs to understand that regardless of how injured they are, their recovery will very often be limited by how much liability insurance the other driver has. In Pennsylvania, people are permitted to drive with as little as $15,000 or liability insurance.
For this reason, we strongly encourage all motorists to purchase Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coverage, which for a relatively small increase in their insurance premiums provides additional protection in case they are struck by a driver will either minimal or no insurance coverage.
Also, Pennsylvania law permits insurance coverage called limited tort, which carries a lower premium than what is called full tort coverage.
Clients who purchase limited tort policies are not allowed to recover money for pain and suffering unless they can show a serious impairment. Many folks purchase limited tort coverage because they are mainly concerned about saving money on their insurance premiums and do not stop to consider the way those policies could hurt them if they do end up being involved in a collision.
What Do Fault And No Fault States Mean? Are They The Same?
A no fault insurance policy refers to the fact that an injured person’s own insurance policy would provide them with a minimum of $5,000 in insurance for their medical bills regardless of whose fault the collision was. That is called personal injury protection (PIP). In order to recover compensation for medical bills in excess of those PIP benefits as well as any other expenses and pain and suffering, you still have to make a claim against the other driver’s insurance and show that the other driver was at fault. Once again, the ability to recover damages for pain and suffering will depend on whether the injured driver selected the Limited Tort or Full Tort option on their own automobile insurance.
What Are The Time Limits For Bringing A Personal Injury Lawsuit In Case Of A Car Collision?
It differs by state, but in Pennsylvania and in most states, lawsuits must be filed within two years of the date of the collision.
What Are the Steps Someone Needs to Take When They have Been Involved in an Auto Collision?
We recommend that everyone make sure that a police report is completed, detailing the facts of the collision. If the police did not come to the scene of the collision, you can always go to the nearest police station and file a report on your own afterwards. We also recommend that everyone gather as much information and evidence as possible at the scene of the collision. You should also make sure to get the other driver’s identity and their insurance information, but also take pictures of the surroundings and the damage to the vehicles. With camera phones being so common nowadays, that is not too difficult.
Regardless of how the collision occurred, it is a good idea to get the names and telephone numbers of any independent witnesses to the collision especially if the police do not show up at the collision scene to gather that information.
Get Answers to Frequently Asked Questions about Auto Collisions or call the law office of Fodera & Long for a FREE Initial Consultation at (215) 569-1212 and get the information and legal answers you’re seeking.